The John Rinehart Award

TMS Sponsored Events in DBM:

- 1973-Metallurgical Effects at High-Strain Rates- R. Rohde et al. Albequerque,TMS.
- 1980, 1985, 1990, 1995, 2000, EXPLOMET.
- 1994, 1998, 2003, 2007, Dynamic Behavior of materials, TMS Annual Meetings.


This award was established to recognize outstanding effort and creative work in the science and technology of dynamic processes in materials. This encompasses the processes by which materials are welded, formed, compacted, and synthesized, as well as dynamic deformation, fracture, and the extreme shock loading effects. The award is named after a true pioneer who witnessed and actively contributed to the field for over forty years.

This award has been given every five years, at the occasion of the EXPLOMET conferences. The selection of the first two awards, announced in August 1990, was made by a committee composed of the EXPLOMET chairmen and Dr. J. S. Rinehart. In subsequent years, the awardees chaired the committee for future awards. A permanent committee is in such a way was established to select the nominees. In selecting the individuals, special attention has been given to the balance between fundamental science and technological implementation. As of 2009, DYMAT is the Custodian of the Award. A special jury, composed of the members of the DYMAT International Advisory Committee and members of the DYMAT Governing Board, vote and select two winners every five years.

John S. Rinehart has not only witnessed, but actively taken part in the development of the field of dynamic deformation. He has dedicated his life to the study of stress waves in solids; the results of these investigations have been published in over 130 technical articles and three books, two of them co-authored by John Pearson. Behavior of Metals Under Impulsive Loads, Explosive Working of Metals and Stress Transients in Solids, have been the vade mecum of all scientists and engineers throughout the world working in the field. The simple, no nonsense, yet fundamentally correct approach used by Dr. Rinehart combines the rigorousness of the physicist with the practicality of the engineer. His fifty year career has been divided between government and university, and he has frequently served as a consultant to industry. He has occupied many positions of high responsibility throughout his career. Director of Research and Development for the U. S. coast and Geodetic Survey, Director of the Mining Research Laboratory of the Colorado School of Mines, which he founded, Assistant Director of the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, Head of the Mechanics Branch at the Naval Ordnance Test Station, China Lake, Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Colorado. Dr. Rinehart was associated with Dr. E. J. Workman's Ordnance Research Group before this activity became a division of the New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology in the early 1950s.

Dr. John Rinehart

  • The award is named after a true pioneer: Dr. John Rinehart.
  • Actively contributed to the field for over 40 years.
  • His work culminated in over 130 scientific and technical articles:

- Behavior of Metals Under Impulsive Loads
- Explosive Working of Metals (with John Pearson)
- Stress Transients in Solids



 Andrey A. Deribas: Mechanics of continuous media

  • Research Area: Physics of explosions, explosive hardening and welding, explosive compaction of powders and explosive synthesis
  • He was the head of Laboratory of the Institute of Hydrodynamics in Novosibirsk.
  • Authored over 100 scientific papers and 25 inventions
  • Head of the special Design office of high-rate hydrodynamics in Novosibirsk
  • Notable awards: Lenin Prize for science, Prize of Council of Ministry of the U. S. S. R.


Mark L. Wilkins: Computer simulation of material behavior

  • Joined LLNL in 1952, year it was established
  • Pioneered the application of large computers to simulate material behavior.
  • His numerical techniques are in use world-wide.
  • Modeled the effects of micrometeorite impacts, space program.
  • Lead the effort in developing a fundamental understanding of penetration mechanics, DARPA.
  • Founded a new division in Physics Dept. at LLNL for experimental and theoretical research on the behavior of materials.
  • He has published over 70 scientific papers on modeling and simulation of materials behavior.

 Dr. Rinehart with the first recipients of the award



 Rolf Prümmer: Explosive compaction of powders.

  • Associated with several Fraunhofer Institutes and is a professor at the University of Karlsruhe.
  • He completed his “Habilitationsschrift” entitled “Explosive Compaction of Powdered substances.
  • He has worked on explosive welding, forming, cutting, hardening.
  • He has more than 150 papers and has developed more than 20 patents.


 Akira B. Sawaoka: Dynamic high-pressure research on materials.

  • Professor, Dean and Director of the Research Lab. Of Eng. Materials at the Tokyo Institute of Technology.
  • President of the Japan Society of Microgravity Applications.
  • Extensively worked on shock compaction and synthesis of hard materials such as SiC and BN, developed diamond compacts for rock drilling.
  • Published more than 200 scientific papers and co-author of “Shock Compression Chemistry of Materials.



Don Shockey: Dynamic fracture, fragmentation, shear bands.

  • Worked on supersonic crack propagation.
  • Co-developed the NAG fracture concept of shock-wave-induced fracture.
  • Leads a research effort in ballistic protection, advanced fractography, and aging system life extension.
  • Published over 100 papers on deformation and fracture of materials under dynamic and static loads.


Don Curran: Dynamic fracture

  • Led and contributed to the NAG family of mesomechanical failure models of solids.
  • Contributed to the understanding of high-pressure phase transitions in metals.
  • Published over 60 papers in Shock Physics.
  • Fellow of the American Physical Society.

 Don Shockey (left) and Don Curran (right) with their plaques


TMS 2007:

 Professor Marc Meyers revealing the award recipients at the Dynamic Behavior of Materials Symposium


Lawrence E. Murr: High-strain rate phenomena in materials

  • Seminal contributions to shock compression.
  • First experiments on dynamic compaction of high temperature superconductors.
  • Elucidation of mechanisms of microstructural evolution in plastic deformation.
  • Co-founder and co-organizer of EXPLOMET conference series.
  • Global leadership.

Yilong Bai: Impact dynamics, damage mechanics and multi-scale problems.

  • Professor at the Institute of Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS).
  • Chairman of the academic committee of the State Key Laboratory of Non-Linear Mechanics (NLM), CAS.
  • Member of Chinese Academy of Science in 1991 and European Academy of Sciences in 2002.
  • Published about 150 papers and two research books: Adiabatic Shear Localization, Pergamon Press (1992) and Ductile Fracture and Ductility, Academic Press (1987).